Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage.
External Links

Some of the links on this site may resolve to non-governmental agencies.
The information on these pages is not controlled by the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission or the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

External links are identified with the following icon: External Link Icon

Welcome to the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission

The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission is responsible for:

  • License motor vehicle dealers, salespersons, manufacturers, distributors, and their representatives pursuant to KRS Chapter 190.
  • Provide consumer protection by investigating complaints against dealerships.
  • Issue administrative citations to dealers who fail to comply with the laws governing motor vehicle sales.

Current Commission Members:

  • Ray Cottrell, Sr., Chairman
  • Doug Dotson, Vice Chairman
  • Kenneth Blanton
  • Chuck Coldiron
  • Larry Craig
  • Sven Ekman
  • Del Farmer
  • Bill Kuster
  • Debbie Robke
  • Jo Shoop
  • Ron Jackson
  • Rodney Kuhl, Commissioner, Department of Vehicle Regulation


Important Online Resources

Dealer Handbook [PDF - 324KB]

Temporary Tag Log [PDF - 19KB]

KY Motor Vehicle Dealer or Manufacturer Temporary Employee Transportation Permit for Dealer Plate Usage [PDF - 18KB]

Motor Vehicle or Manufacturer's Dealer Plate Usage Authorization Register [PDF - 35KB]

To file a complaint against a dealer related to the purchase of a motor vehicle, use the Vehicle Complaint Form. [PDF - 145K]

Contact Information

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at the information below.

Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission
Carlos Cassady, Executive Director
105 Sea Hero Road, Suite 1
Frankfort, KY  40601

(502) 573-1000 - Office
(502) 573-1003 - Fax


MVC Message Center

Last Updated 7/15/2014
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement